Call on communities to keep the peace.

• Urge National Boundary Commission to complete demarcation of disputed boundaries.

1. Government officials of Ekiti State and the State of Osun have held an emergency meeting on disputed boundaries within both States. The meeting which the Ministry of Justice, Ekiti State and the Ministry of Justice, State of Osun jointly facilitated, was held College of Technology, Esa-Oke, State of Osun.

2. The Meeting was convened to make further progress in the resolution process of the Ekiti State/State of Osun Boundary Disputes. Olawale Fapohunda; Honourable Attorney-General & Commissioner for Justice, Ekiti State, and Olufemi Akande; Honourable Attorney-General & Commissioner for Justice, State of Osun, led the Ekiti State and State of Osun delegations respectively.

3. Olawale Fapohunda; Attorney-General, Ekiti State in his opening remarks at the meeting said that the meeting was urgently required in view of the now frequent confrontations between affected border communities from Ekiti State and the State of Osun. He further stated that the areas in dispute traverse three local governments in Ekiti State – Ekiti West Local Government, Efon-Alaaye Local Government, and Ekiti South West Local Government. The flashpoint sectors are Okemesi/Ila Oragun/Ede, Okemesi/Esa- Oke, Efon-Alaaye/Esa-Oke, Efon-Alaaye/ Erin-Ijesa, Ogotun/Ikeji-Ile.

4. Fapohunda said that although the Government of Ekiti State has made a detailed submission to the National Boundary Commission (NBC) in support of its position, the NBC has been unable to conclude its assignment on the boundary areas. Specifically, the ethnographic studies for the sectors of the boundaries are yet to be completed as well as the issue of the tripartite point of Osun, Ondo and Ekiti States that was yet to be decided by the NBC.

5. The Ekiti State Attorney-General said that the immediate need is to appeal to all communities and interested persons to maintain the peace while efforts are ongoing to either seek a judicial resolution of the disputes or an amicable intervention by our governments.

6. In his response, Olufemi Akande; the Honourable Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, State of Osun said that the position of the State of Osun is not different from what has been submitted to the National Boundary Commission (NBC). He asserted that there exists a package of archival evidence, including government gazettes and judgments of the superior courts in Nigeria to the effect that the mass of land in dispute bordering the boundary areas along with Okemesi/Ila-Orangun/Ede, Efon-Alaaye and Ido-Aiyegunle and Ikeji-Ile-Ijesa belongs to the State of Osun. Akande said that Osun State maintains the tripartite point of the co-ordinate given to the three States of Osun, Ondo, and Ekiti as determined by the Office of the Surveyor-General of the Federation. He however urged the contending and warring parties in the two States to maintain peace and sheath their swords pending when the NBC would have been able to physically demarcate the boundary lines.

7. In a joint statement endorsed by the Attorneys-General on behalf of Ekiti State and the State of Osun, both States agreed among others to give priority attention to the peaceful and speedy resolution of the boundary disputes between the two States. They also agreed that both States shall urgently invite the National Boundary Commission to conclude outstanding assignments on the boundary corridor of the two States while urging the affected communities to maintain the status quo until the National Boundary Commission determines the boundaries and are appropriately demarcated.

8. The highlight of the meeting was the Setting up of a Committee of Six persons, three persons from each State with a mandate to oversee the implementation of the decisions of the meeting including explaining the decisions of this meeting to the affected communities.

9. It will be recalled that in the last few weeks there have been clashes between Okemesi Ekiti in Ekiti State and Ila Oragun in the State of Osun. There was a similar clash between the Efon-Alaye Community in Ekiti State and Erin-Ijesha in the State of Osun.